Instructions for a Heatwave Vintage Contemporaries

#ad
Vintage #ad - Instructions for a heatwave weaves an unforgettable narrative of a family falling apart and coming together with hard-won, life-changing truths about who they really are.  . In the thick of a record-breaking heatwave, Gretta Riordan’s newly retired husband has cleaned out his bank account and vanished.

Now, a history teacher whose marriage is failing; monica, for the first time in years, the youngest, Gretta calls her children home : Michael Francis, whose blighted past has driven a wedge between her and her younger sister; and Aoife, whose new life in Manhattan is elaborately arranged to conceal a devastating secret.

Instructions for a Heatwave Vintage Contemporaries #ad - In a story that stretches from the upper west side to a village on the coast of Ireland, Maggie O’Farrell explores the mysteries that inhere within families, and reveals the fault lines over which we build our lives. London, 1976.

#ad



This Must Be the Place Vintage Contemporaries

#ad
Vintage #ad - Daniel Sullivan leads a complicated life. Together, they have made an idyllic life in the country, but a secret from Daniel’s past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. Shot through with humor and wisdom, this must Be the Place is an irresistible love story that crisscrosses continents and time zones as it captures an extraordinary marriage, and an unforgettable family, with wit and deep affection.

Bestselling author maggie o’farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls “her breakout book. Perfect for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette. An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. A new yorker living in the wilds of ireland, and his wife, Claudette, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, he has children he never sees in California, is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway.

#ad



The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox

#ad
Mariner Books/Harcourt #ad - But she's still basically a stranger, a family member never mentioned by the family, and one who is sure to bring life-altering secrets with her when she leaves the ward. In the middle of tending to the everyday business at her vintage-clothing shop and sidestepping her married boyfriend’s attempts at commitment, Iris Lockhart receives a stunning phone call: Her great-aunt Esme, whom she never knew existed, is being released from Cauldstone Hospital—where she has been locked away for more than sixty-one years.

Iris’s grandmother Kitty always claimed to be an only child. But esme’s papers prove she is kitty’s sister, and Iris can see the shadow of her dead father in Esme’s face. Esme has been labeled harmless—sane enough to coexist with the rest of the world. If iris takes her in, lost lives, what dangerous truths might she inherit? A gothic, intricate tale of family secrets, and the freedom brought by truth, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox will haunt you long past its final page.

#ad



The Distance Between Us. Maggie O'Farrell

#ad
Headline Book Publishing #ad - A set of tragic circumstances and a hasty marriage bring Jake from Hong Kong to Britain, where he embarks upon a quest for the father he never knew. This is a story of parallel lives, misplaced identities and the bond between sisters. Stella has fled London to confront the childhood secret which has marked her life.

. Headline Book Publishing.

#ad



The Hand That First Held Mine

#ad
Mariner Books #ad - From the best-selling author of The Vanishing of Esme Lennox comes a spellbinding novel that shows there are no accidents, in life and in love. Frustrated with her parents' genteel country life, Lexie Sinclair plans her escape to London. There, underground world of bohemian, a magazine editor who introduces her to the thrilling, she takes up with Innes Kent, postwar Soho.

So when she finds herself pregnant, she doesn't hesitate to have the baby on her own. Headline Book Publishing. As their stories unfold—moving in time and changing voice chapter by chapter—a connection between the three of them takes shape that drives the novel towards a tremendous revelation. Later, a young painter named elina dizzily navigates the first weeks of motherhood and finds she can't remember giving birth, in present-day London, while her boyfriend Ted is flooded with memories and images he cannot place.

The Hand That First Held Mine #ad - Praised by the washington post as a “breathtaking, heart-breaking creation, ” The Hand That First Held Mine is a gorgeous and tenderly wrought story about the ways in which love and beauty bind us together. She learns to be a reporter, comes to know art and artists, and embraces her freedom fully.

#ad



After You'd Gone

#ad
Penguin Books #ad - Alice's family gathers at her bedside and as they wait, and remember, argue, long-buried tensions emerge. Alice raikes takes a train from london to Scotland to visit her family, but when she gets there she witnesses something so shocking that she insists on returning to London immediately. The more they talk, the more they seem to conceal.

A riveting story that skips through time and interweaves multiple points of view, After You'd Gone is a novel of stunning psychological depth and marks the debut of a major literary talent. Alice, slides between varying levels of consciousness, meanwhile, recalling her past and a love affair that recently ended.

After You'd Gone #ad - Headline Book Publishing. A few hours later, alice is lying in a coma after an accident that may or may not have been a suicide attempt.

#ad



I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

#ad
Knopf #ad - And, an ongoing, most terrifying of all, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, in different locations, visceral snapshots.

In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, beauty, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, and mysteries of life itself. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster.

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death #ad - Headline Book Publishing. I will never forget this book. Ann patchettan extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking. We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I am, i am, i am is maggie o'farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. I am i am i am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive.

#ad



I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

#ad
Vintage #ad - And, an ongoing, most terrifying of all, daily struggle to protect her daughter from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life’s myriad dangers. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. Headline Book Publishing. On seventeen occasions, maggie O’Farrell has stared death in the face—and lived to tell the tale.

In this astonishing memoir, she shares the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life: The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. Here, o’farrell stiches together these discrete encounters to tell the story of her entire life.

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death #ad - In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, beauty, she captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, and mysteries of life itself.

#ad



My Lover's Lover

#ad
Penguin Books #ad - Headline Book Publishing. As lily and marcus become more deeply involved, Lily becomes obsessed with Sinead's fate and thinks she sees her everywhere. When lily moves into new boyfriend marcus's apartment and plunges headlong into their relationship, she must contend with an intangible, hostile presence—Marcus’s ex-girlfriend, Sinead.

She must question not only her sanity, or should, but whether the man she loves is someone she can, be with at all.

#ad



The Dutch House: A Novel

#ad
Harper #ad - Despite every outward sign of success, Danny and Maeve are only truly comfortable when they’re together. The story is told by cyril’s son danny, as he and his older sister, the brilliantly acerbic and self-assured Maeve, are exiled from the house where they grew up by their stepmother. Set over the course of five decades,  The Dutch House is a dark fairy tale about two smart people who cannot overcome their past.

Headline Book Publishing. A read with jenna today show book club pick! from the new york times bestselling author of Commonwealth and State of Wonder, comes Ann Patchett’s most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that will not let them go.

The dutch house is the story of a paradise lost, a tour de force that digs deeply into questions of inheritance, love and forgiveness, of how we want to see ourselves and of who we really are. His first order of business is to buy the Dutch House, a lavish estate in the suburbs outside of Philadelphia.

The Dutch House: A Novel #ad - . Meant as a surprise for his wife, the house sets in motion the undoing of everyone he loves. But when at last they’re forced to confront the people who left them behind, the relationship between an indulged brother and his ever-protective sister is finally tested. At the end of the second world war, cyril Conroy combines luck and a single canny investment to begin an enormous real estate empire, propelling his family from poverty to enormous wealth.

Throughout their lives they return to the well-worn story of what they’ve lost with humor and rage.

#ad



The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

#ad
Berkley #ad - She is funny and imaginative, and “Bookish” lands a step above run-of-the-mill romantic comedy fare. The washington post“abbi Waxman offers up a quirky, eccentric romance that will charm any bookworm…. Already doing it. It's time for nina to come out of her comfortable shell, but she isn't convinced real life could ever live up to fiction.

It's a disaster! and as if that wasn't enough, funny, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, Tom, and deeply interested in getting to know her. The only child of a single mother, a kick-butt trivia team, Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, a world-class planner and a cat named Phil.

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill #ad - 1. Hard pass, see: coffee. 3. To. Hide in a corner of her apartment and rock back and forth. Doesn't he realize what a terrible idea that is?   Nina considers her options. They all live close by! they're all—or mostly all—excited to meet her! She'll have to Speak. Meet nina hill: A young woman supremely confident in her own.

#ad